Arkansas State Awards Book Lists and Nominees

Disclosure: I am an affiliate of and I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

Arkansas Charlie May Simon Book Award Nominees

See Book List    2022-23

See Book List    2021-22

Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award Nominees

See Book List  2022-23

See Book List    2021-22

Arkansas Teen Book Award Nominees 2021-22

See Book List    Level 1

See Book List    Level 2


The Charlie May Simon Book Award was created to promote reading, discussion of books and quality children’s literature for students in Grades 4-6. Each year, intermediate grade students read from a list of recommended titles and cast a ballot for their favorite book. Ballots are distributed in early spring by a Commissioner’s Memo posted on the Web. The winning author receives the Charlie May Simon Medallion during an annual fall celebration.

The Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award made its debut in 1998. The award was established to encourage reading for students in Grades K-3. In its first year, more than 52,000 Arkansas primary students participated in the voting process. This award follows the same procedures used in selecting the Charlie May Simon Award.

The Arkansas Teen Book Award recognizes books in two divisions: Level 1, grades 7-9 and Level 2, grades 10-12. The books chosen for the final teen reading lists were read and voted on by teachers and librarians across Arkansas. Students vote at their school library or a local public library for their favorite book from the list of nominated titles